Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Q&A

Comments on Location of AGC in a superheterodyne RX chain

Location of AGC in a superheterodyne RX chain

+6
−0

RF novice here. If using a superheterodyne receiver for the purpose of FM/FSK modulated signals, I'm wondering if the location of an optional automatic gain control (AGC) circuit is always placed on the IF amplifier in such receivers, or if there are other options?

I've been reading Superhet Radio AGC - Automatic Gain Control and similar articles and they often refer to AGC as a means to adjust volume control in AM radio broadcast receivers and similar. The article says "the most widely used sources of the AGC voltage are from the demodulator".

However, I'm working with FM short range devices using single chip RFIC solutions, which come with an optional AGC feature. The circuit designers seem to assume that I already know exactly where the AGC is located and what it does. The datasheet of the RFIC does unhelpfully not show any schematic picture of the RX chain, but explains it with words: