Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Q&A

Comments on What is a good PCB-layout?

What is a good PCB-layout?

+3
−0

I am an electrical engineering student and I just finished designing an ECG-amplifier circuit. Here is the schematic: -

Image alt text

It is fairly simple. Initially, there is a 1st order highpass filter. Then, a differential amplification stage with AD620N in-amp followed by a Sallen-Key 2nd order lowpass filter. Finally, a gain and offset stage. The two female pin-header connectors (J4 and J5) are for plugging in an esp8266 module to sample the processed signal with its ADC. There are also some test points and some screw terminals.

I have also designed and ordered a PCB for this circuit here:

Image alt text

The PCB is 100x100mm, has 2 layers, and it only uses THT-components. The +9V and -9V are connected through traces to the amplifiers, and I use 1 GND plane.

Questions: I'm new to PCB-design and I don't have a feeling for what a "good" design is. Have I made some big "no-nos"? Is there a standard for placing components that's a good idea to follow? Where is it a good place to start with the PCB-design? Should I go from left to right following my schematic and wire components accordingly (that's what I have done)? Is this a poor design?

History
Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.
Why should this post be closed?

2 comment threads

A good layout is one that meets or exceeds your expectations (or design specs). These specs form wha... (3 comments)
Quite a few questions about the circuit design. Where are the power supply decoupling capacitors for... (5 comments)
A good layout is one that meets or exceeds your expectations (or design specs). These specs form wha...
TonyStewart‭ wrote about 1 year ago